Sign in to follow this  
shortspecialbus

Md-11 Out Of Memory Xp 32. Switch To Vista 64?

The dreaded OOM is back. :( This is in WinXP 32 bit, with the /3GB switch. Hasn't happened with anything besides the MD-11, but I'm not blaming the plane. I do have a fair amount of AI traffic, and all the UTXs, FEX, GEX, blah blah blah. So I'm sure I just overloaded the poor thing.I have a copy of Vista 64 bit that I just haven't installed for various reasons. Will switching to Vista 64 bit help? I got rid of it a long time ago because of the fact that few addons worked with it, and driver support at the time was garbage.Is Vista 64 bit recommended to be rid of this problem? I have 4GB of physical RAM in my machine.Thanks,-stefan

You will get rid of OOM errors with a 64b OS. I have been using Vista64 for a couple of months and I am actually liking it. I am not able to get drivers for an old flatbed scanner and my Palm Pilot but other than that everything works and nonething in FS9/FSX seems affected.

Dan Downs KCRP

You will get rid of OOM errors with a 64b OS. I have been using Vista64 for a couple of months and I am actually liking it. I am not able to get drivers for an old flatbed scanner and my Palm Pilot but other than that everything works and nonething in FS9/FSX seems affected.
Well, I'm finishing my backup now. Time for a wipe and an install of Vista 64. Thanks!-stefan

Guest johnan