Sign in to follow this  
Guest Padesatka

Yaw Ready for This?

Guest Padesatka

I real flying life, I like to use my feet. I'm an avid, experienced tailwheel and aerobatic aviator and instructor (I mention this here for background, and not for entirely egotistical reasons). If the rudder and keel effectiveness of the planes I fly in real life were anything like what we have been settling for in the virtual world, it's probable that I would either have given it up, or killed myself by now. But the real world isn't like that, and I've been flying and learning for over 25 years now, and my appreciation for the rudder and for the yaw axis of flight continues to develop. This appreciation renders me more and more dissatisfied, with even the best simulations, as time goes on. Most of us are surely aware that the vertical axis has been woefully neglected by developers, ACES included. On many occasions, my frustration over this glaring flight-physics neglect has overcome my enthusiasm for all the things developers have done right- and I've often gone looking around for an alternative to FSX, that can respectfully acknowledge this primary axis of flight. It's been a mostly frustrating journey. There are some RC and combat sim examples, where the yaw axis is not nearly so disrespected. But among Microsoft's closest competitors, and even the more obscure and defunct flight sim programs all get weird when it comes to taking sides along the vertical axis.I don't see why the market should accept this. The solution could be the raising of a broad collective understanding of what we're so glaringly missing, and for popular demand for satisfaction to be assertively expressed to developers. Great strides have been made in realism and fidelity in terms of graphics and interface. Before these are further enhanced, and before we enthusiasts shell out our next round of dollars for the next must-have service/expansion pack or version, I personally feel that it's high time that something w