Sign in to follow this  
Guest Zenra

RXP WX500 in J41 - popup shows just the green hotspots too?

Guest Zenra

Just purchased the Reality XP Wx500 to use with my new JS4100 - I am loving the plane and need the radar to negotiate all the weather one finds at 16,000 ft :)One small disappointment, though, is that in the J41 even the RXP Wx500 popup only displays as a black rectangle with the green hotspots when you mouse-over. I can live with the hotspots on the panel, but why can't the popup display the complete RXP gauge? I am new to RXP products - am I doing something wrong?Mitchell

Guest Zenra

So looking at the RXPWX500.INI file:

[SETTINGS]Wx500Popup=15500NoFrame=On

I see I can change the second line to NoFrame=Off and the popup will display the whole gauge as I would like, but the whole gauge is then also displayed within the Wx display area of the gauge on teh panel, with all of the default J41 Wx radar bezel and switches surrounding it :(Mitchell

Guest Zenra

It is interesting to note that you can show the whole RXP Wx500 (i.e., with working knobs, buttons and bezel) on the panel by setting NoFrame=No in the RXPWX500.INI file. I have not worked out the details yet, but by adjusting the size and coordinate values for the panel Wx500 you could make it replace the default radar gauge. You would loose the ability to adjust EHSI range, though. Anybody have suggestions as to how the EHSI range Up/Down commands could be assigned someplace else, or even to some unused keystrokes? Of course the best would be if we could hook the RXP range Up/Down button clicks to drive EHSI range as well...